Our Website Uses Cookies 

We and the third parties that provide content, functionality, or business services on our website may use cookies to collect information about your browsing activities in order to provide you with more relevant content and promotional materials, on and off the website, and help us understand your interests and improve the website.

For more information, please contact us or consult our Privacy Notice.

Your binder contains too many pages, the maximum is 40.

We are unable to add this page to your binder, please try again later.

This page has been added to your binder.

Covington’s Voorhees Named Chair-Elect of ABA Antitrust Section

September 16, 2011

WASHINGTON, DC, September 16, 2011 — The American Bar Association’s Section of Antitrust Law has selected Ted Voorhees as chair-elect for the coming year and eight additional Covington lawyers to its leadership team.

“It is exciting and a great honor to become chair-elect at a time of historic proliferation of competition law regimes throughout the world,” Mr. Voorhees said. “Competition law truly matters for national economies, and antitrust issues increasingly make front page news in major capitals around the world. The views of the ABA Antitrust Section are highly respected throughout the global competition law community, and I look forward to helping foster the section’s effectiveness.”

“As chair-elect, Ted will continue a long tradition of Covington lawyers serving in leadership positions within the ABA Antitrust Section,” said Thomas Barnett and Deborah Garza, co-chairs of Covington’s global antitrust practice. “He will bring energy, dedication, and exceptional ability to leading the section’s efforts to improve antitrust policy and enforcement in the U.S. and around the world.”

A number of other Covington lawyers have been named to leadership posts within the ABA Antitrust Section for 2011-12, including:

  • Harvey Applebaum, a former chair of the section, will serve on the section’s International Task Force.
  • Thomas Barnett will co-chair the section’s Fall Forum.
  • Stephen Calkins will serve on the section’s Publications Advisory Board.
  • Michael Fanelli, who previously served as the editorial chair for the ABA’s Competition Laws Outside of the United States treatise, will serve as a member of the section’s International Cartel Task Force.
  • Deborah Garza, who previously served on the section’s Council, will once again co-chair the section’s Spring Meeting and serve on its Advisory Board on Section Reserves.
  • Shimica Gaskins will once again serve as vice chair of the section’s Cartel and Criminal Practice Committee.
  • John Graubert will serve as vice chair of the section’s Federal Civil Enforcement Committee.
  • Katherine Sauser will serve as the assistant to Chair-Elect Voorhees.

With more than 8,000 members nationwide, the Antitrust Section is the leading voice for the antitrust and consumer law profession in the United States and a preeminent authority within the rapidly growing competition law community throughout the world.

Share this article: