Our Website Uses Cookies 

We and the third parties that provide content, functionality, or business services on our website may use cookies to collect information about your browsing activities in order to provide you with more relevant content and promotional materials, on and off the website, and help us understand your interests and improve the website.

For more information, please contact us or consult our Privacy Notice.

Your binder contains too many pages, the maximum is 40.

We are unable to add this page to your binder, please try again later.

This page has been added to your binder.

Best Lawyers Awards Covington Nine ‘2014 Lawyer of the Year’ Recognitions and 204 Mentions

August 15, 2013

WASHINGTON, DC, August 15, 2013 Best Lawyers named nine Covington & Burling lawyers as “2014 Lawyer of the Year” in their respective practice areas and cities. The selected lawyers received strong ratings from their peers for their “abilities, professionalism and integrity” in the publication’s annual survey.

Overall, Covington lawyers received 204 individual mentions in 57 areas of law. Best Lawyers compiles its lists of outstanding attorneys by conducting exhaustive peer-review surveys in which thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers. The latest edition of The Best Lawyers in America is based on nearly 5 million detailed evaluations of lawyers by other lawyers.

The Covington lawyers recognized as “Lawyers of the Year” are:

The Covington lawyers recognized in various practice areas are as follows:

Administrative/Regulatory: Jennifer Johnson and Robert Long

Antitrust: Harvey Applebaum, Thomas Barnett, Deborah Garza, Robert Sayler, and Theodore Voorhees

Appellate: Gregg Levy, Robert Long, and John Nields

Arbitration: Mitchell Dolin and Robert Sayler

Banking and Finance: Keith Noreika, David Rosinus, Stuart Stock, and Jean Veta

Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization: Dennis Auerbach, Michael St. Patrick Baxter, and Benjamin Hoch

Bet-the-Company Litigation: Robert Haslam, Gregg Levy, Mark Lynch, George Pappas, Ethan Posner, Robert Sayler, and Alan Vinegrad

Biotechnology: Jim Snipes

Commercial Litigation: Harvey Applebaum, Donald Brown, Mitchell Dolin, Saul Goodman, Eugene Gulland, William Iverson, Gregg Levy, Robert Long, Mark Lynch, George Pappas, Ethan Posner, Robert Sayler, and Alan Vinegrad

Communications: Yaron Dori, Jennifer Johnson, Mace Rosenstein, Gerard Waldron, Stephen Weiswasser, and Kurt Wimmer

Copyright: Simon Frankel, George Pappas, and Christopher Sipes

Corporate: Philip Howard, Frederick Kanner, David Martin, and Scott Smith

Corporate Compliance: Bruce Baird, David Bayless, Len Chazen, and David Martin

Corporate Governance: Len Chazen, Philip Howard, and David Martin

Criminal Defense - White Collar: Stephen Anthony, Bruce Baird, Haywood Gilliam, Nancy Kestenbaum, Mark Lynch, John Nields, Ethan Posner, and Alan Vinegrad

Derivatives and Futures: Bruce Bennett

Employee Benefits (ERISA): Julie Edmond, Amy Moore, Richard Shea, and John Vine

Employment - Management: Jeffrey Huvelle

Energy: William Massey and Richard Meserve

Environmental: Don Elliott, Theodore Garrett, Richard Meserve, and Allan Topol

FDA: Scott Danzis, Ellen Flannery, John Hurvitz, Peter Barton Hutt, Richard Kingham, Michael Labson, Gerald Masoudi, and Peter Safir

Financial Services Regulation: Mark Plotkin, David Rosinus, Stuart Stock, Jean Veta, Edward Yingling

Government Relations: Roderick DeArment, Stuart Eizenstat, Martin Gold, and Jack Schenendorf

Health Care: Ellen Corenswet, John Hurvitz, Peter Barton Hutt and Ethan Posner

Information Technology: Nigel Howard and Bert Wells

Insurance: Donald Brown, John Buchanan, Mitchell Dolin, Marialuisa Gallozzi, Saul Goodman, David Goodwin, William Greaney, Lawrence Hobel, Georgia Kazakis, Ben Lenhart, Robert Sayler, and William Skinner

International Arbitration - Commercial: Mitchell Dolin, Oscar Garibaldi, Eugene Gulland, and Allan Moore

International Arbitration - Governmental: Oscar Garibaldi and Eugene Gulland

International Trade and Finance: Harvey Applebaum, Stuart Eizenstat, Peter Flanagan, Peter Lichtenbaum, and Peter Trooboff

Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity: Paul Rogers

Litigation - Antitrust: Thomas Barnett, Gregg Levy, and Anita Stork

Litigation - Banking & Finance: Robert Long, Stuart Stock, and Jean Veta

Litigation - Environmental: Don Elliott, Theodore Garrett

Litigation - ERISA: T. L. Cubbage, Julie Edmond, Robert Long, Richard Shea, and John Vine

Litigation - Intellectual Property: Alan Blankenheimer, Robert Fram, Simon Frankel, Robert Haslam, George Pappas, and Christopher Sipes

Litigation - Labor & Employment: Jeffrey Huvelle

Litigation - Patent: Robert Fram, Robert Haslam, Roderick McKelvie, George Pappas, Christopher Sipes, and Stanley Young

Litigation - Regulatory Enforcement (SEC, Telecom, Energy): Bruce Baird

Litigation Securities: David Bayless

Litigation & Controversy - Tax: Robert Culbertson, William Paul, and Reeves Westbrook

Media Law: Yaron Dori and Kurt Wimmer

Mediation: Mitchell Dolin, Eugene Gulland, and Robert Sayler

Mergers & Acquisitions: David Brown, Len Chazen, Bruce Deming, and Bruce Wilson

Patent: George Pappas and Christopher Sipes

Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants: Chad Morriss

Product Liability Litigation - Defendants: Mike Brock, Patrick Davies, Mark Lynch, Keith Teel, and Theodore Voorhees

Real Estate: Robert Gage

Securities/Capital Markets: Bruce Bennett, David Engvall, Nora Gibson, and David Martin

Securities Regulation: Bruce Bennett and David Martin

Securitization and Structure Finance: Ira Palgon

Sports: Douglas Gibson, Gregg Levy, Bruce Wilson, and Peter Zern

Tax: Robert Culbertson, Roderick DeArment, Michael Levy, William Paul, Dirk Suringa, and Reeves Westbrook

Technology: Mark Plotkin

Trademark: George Pappas and Christopher Sipes

Transportation: Michael Rosenthal and Jack Schenendorf

Trusts and Estates: Doris Blazek-White

Water: Theodore Garrett

Share this article: