Our Website Uses Cookies 

We and the third parties that provide content, functionality, or business services on our website may use cookies to collect information about your browsing activities in order to provide you with more relevant content and promotional materials, on and off the website, and help us understand your interests and improve the website.

For more information, please contact us or consult our Privacy Notice.

Your binder contains too many pages, the maximum is 40.

We are unable to add this page to your binder, please try again later.

This page has been added to your binder.

Ambassador Eizenstat heads the firm’s international practice.  His work at Covington focuses on resolving international trade problems and business disputes with the US and foreign governments, and international business transactions and regulations on behalf of US companies and others around the world.

During a decade and a half of public service in three US administrations, Ambassador Eizenstat has held a number of key senior positions, including chief White House domestic policy adviser to President Jimmy Carter (1977-1981); U.S. Ambassador to the European Union, Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade, Under Secretary of State for Economic, Business and Agricultural Affairs, and Deputy Secretary of the Treasury in the Clinton Administration (1993-2001).

  • Represented major US and foreign corporations including Boeing Company, KBR, BP, BT, Coca-Cola, and Neptune Orient Lines.
  • Special advisor to the Bromide Science and Environment Forum.
  • Advised the governments of Australia and Cyprus.

Pro Bono

  • Various Holocaust restitution matters.

Memberships and Affiliations

  • United States Department of Defense, Defense Policy Board member (2014-present)
  • Adjunct Lecturer, John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University (1982-1991)
  • Ambassador Stuart E. Eizenstat Professorship in Modern Jewish History and Culture, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (established 2008)
  • American Bar Association (1967-present)
  • Black Rock Funds, Board of Trustees (2001-present)
  • BT Americas, Advisory Board (2005-2008)
  • Coca-Cola, International Advisory Board (2002-2011)    
  • Group Menatep Limited, International Advisory Board (2002-present)
  • Sustainable Forestry Management, International Advisory Board (2005-present)
  • United Parcel Service (UPS), Board of Directors (2005-present)
  • Mirant Corporation, Board of Directors (2001-2005)
  • Center for Global Development and for the Atlantic Council, led study commissions
  • Council on Foreign Relations, Member (1993-present)
  • Freedom House, Vice Chairman of the Board (2003-2007)    
  • Institute of U.S. Jewish-Israeli Relations of the American Jewish Committee, Founding Chairman (1982-1986)
  • Jewish Community Center of Greater Washington, former President (1989-1991)
  • Transparency International, Advisory Board (2006-present)
  • Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, former Chairman of the Board of Governors (2002-2005)

Previous Experience

  • Deputy Secretary of the Treasury (1999-2001)
  • Under Secretary of State for Economic, Business and Agricultural Affairs (1997-1999)
  • Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade (1996-1997)
  • U.S. Ambassador to the European Union (1993-1996)
  • Chief Domestic Policy Adviser and Executive Director of the White House Domestic Policy Staff for President Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)
  • Policy Director, Jimmy Carter’s 1976 Campaign for the Presidency
  • White House Staff of President Lyndon B. Johnson (1967-1968)
  • Research Director, Vice President Hubert Humphrey’s 1968 Presidential Campaign
  • Adjunct Lecturer, John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University (1982-1991)
  • Brookings Institution, Guest Scholar (1981)
  • Mr. Eizenstat received a Lifetime Achievement Award from American Lawyer Magazine in October 2013.
  • Abraham Foxman Award for International Leadership from the Anti-Defamation League (2012)
  • Chambers USA: America’s Leading Business Lawyers (2005-2020)
  • Chambers Global, International Trade - Trade Remedies & Trade Policy (US) (2012-2021)
  • "The Leading Lawyer in International Trade" in Washington, DC by Legal Times (2007)
  • Best Lawyers in America, Washington International Trade and Finance Lawyer of the Year (2015, 2018)
  • Best Lawyers in America, Government Relations and International Trade and Finance Law (2005-2020)
  • Legal 500 US, Litigation - International Trade (2013-2017) and Environmental: Litigation (2012)
  • Washington DC Super Lawyers, International (2007-2020)
  • Washingtonian, International Trade and Arbitration "Top Lawyer" (2011, 2013)
  • Grand Decoration of Honor in Gold with Star for Service to the Republic of Austria from the Austrian government (2005)
  • Medal of Honor from the Czech Council of Victims of Nazism (2005)
  • French Legion of Honor from the French government (2004)
  • Great Negotiator of the Year Award from Harvard University (2003)
  • Alexander Hamilton Award for Distinguished Service, Department of Treasury (2001)
  • Knight’s Commander’s Cross (Badge and Star) of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of German (2001)
  • Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Public Policy Scholar (2001)
  • Distinguished Service Award, Department of State (1999)
  • Courage and Conscience Award from the Israeli government (1998)
  • Foreign Affairs Award for Public Service, Department of State (1996)
  • Over 40 additional awards from various groups and organizations.
  • Eight honorary doctorate degrees from universities and other educational institutions.
    • Westfield State University, Honorary Doctor of Public Service (2013)
    • Florida Atlantic University, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters (2002)
    • Brandeis University, Honorary Doctor of Laws (2001)
    • University of North Carolina, Honorary Doctor of Laws (2000)
    • Hebrew College, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters (2000)
    • Jewish Theological Seminary of America, Honorary Doctor of Human Letters (2000)
    • Weismann Institute of Science, Israel, Honorary Doctor of Philosophy (1999)
    • Yeshiva University, Honorary Doctor of Laws (1998)